Guest blog: Joe Denny’s day at a marketing agency

Following on from our recent collaboration with Reading College, here’s a short blog by Joe Denny about how he created his animation.

I’m a student from Reading College, working towards a Graphics and Digital Design Level 2 BTEC qualification and recently undertook work experience at an agency after submitting an animation for a competition for RDG 4 ME, which challenged me and my classmates to come up with digital assets which show how people can travel cheaply by public transport.

My inspiration for the topic of the animation I submitted was RDG 4 ME’s blog post on how cheaply you can travel with Reading Buses. I then took down the most important facts and figures to use in my work. The inspiration for the design of my submission was based on infographics used by RDG 4 ME to help inform people of small facts worth knowing. The background of the infographics usually depict a cityscape made up of basic vector shapes plus some fields or empty grassland in the foreground.

Taking part in the RDG 4 ME design competition I developed my Photoshop skills further by designing the animation. I also learned new skills in Adobe Flash by learning how to create frame‐by‐frame animations and the basic skills needed to use Adobe Flash.

During my time at the agency I’ve learnt a lot more about how a Graphic Design team works and how they operate on a normal day. I’ve also improved my Photoshop drawing skills by using a graphics tablet, and learnt more drawing techniques in Adobe Illustrator.

Did you like Joe’s animation? Tell us what you think of his experiences on our Facebook or Twitter pages, or comment below!

Leave a comment